The Precision Mouse comes with all the bells and whistles most people could want at the reasonable price of less than $100. It’s got three programmable buttons and a delightfully smooth scroll wheel.  As someone who has suffered from repetitive stress injury (RSI), I’m always looking to switch up my mousing game. A wise physical therapist once told me that regularly changing up your pointing device is key to preventing RSI. I recently decided my wrists deserved a break from Apple’s Magic Mouse 2. 

Comfort Rules

The Precision Mouse makes a great first impression with its sleek, two-tone look accented by silver buttons. When you pick it up, it feels solid but not too heavy. I find it extremely comfortable for long writing sessions. One interesting feature is that it offers both Bluetooth and a wired connection.  The tracking precision is excellent, if not quite as sensitive as the Magic Mouse. It’s designed so that you can use it with up to three computers simultaneously, which is handy for me as I switch off frequently between my MacBook Pro, an iPad Air 2020, and a Microsoft Surface Pro 7.  If you want a simpler, lighter alternative to the Precision Mouse, I can heartily recommend the Microsoft Surface Mobile Mouse. It’s got the same precise tracking as its bigger cousin, excellent scroll wheel, and an eye-pleasing design.  The Mobile Mouse, as the name implies, is exceptionally lightweight. You can toss it in your pocket and forget about it. It’s got a distinctive, pared-down look that matches both the Surface Pro and the MacBook lineup. The Mobile Mouse comes in a choice of three colors that Microsoft calls Platinum, Burgundy, and Cobalt Blue. You can go wild and mix and match these hues with the various covers and pens offered as accessories with the Surface line.  The Mobile Mouse is a bargain at $34.99. The only downside is that it lacks some of the features of the Precision Mouse, such as side buttons. But the Mobile mouse fits perfectly in my hand and might be even more comfortable than the Precision Mouse. 

Can a Mac Love a Microsoft Mouse?

My love for all things Apple doesn’t extend to its mice. In the company’s quest for minimalism, they have stripped all the things that make a modern mouse great, such as a scroll wheel, a satisfying right-click function, and more.  I prefer using a Microsoft mouse with my MacBook Pro, but sadly, things get complicated when the twain meet. Most of the Microsoft mouse functions behave perfectly well on the MacBook, but I’ve had Bluetooth connection problems with the Surface Precision Mouse. Strangely, my Surface Mobile Mouse works perfectly well and doesn’t have any connection problems.  I love the design of the Apple Magic Mouse 2, but it still doesn’t feel right in my hand after years of use. One problem is that there’s no intuitive way to know which way the mouse is pointing, so I often end up fumbling when I should be working.  The lack of a scroll wheel is also a killer. I know that you can swipe and tap and use all kinds of gestures with the Magic Mouse, but the smooth surfaces offer no feedback, and I’ve never developed the muscle memory, despite hundreds of hours of trying.  One pet peeve of mine is that the Magic Mouse, like Apple’s Magic Keyboard, uses built-in rechargeable batteries. In theory, this recharging capability should be an advantage, but I find my mouse and keyboard die just when I need to do something time-sensitive in actual practice.  I just wish that Apple and Microsoft would collaborate on accessories. My dream mouse would have the looks of the Magic Mouse and the practical features of the Microsoft rodents. Call it the Mapple Mouse.