Details are scarce, but a new report claims that Apple could make the AirPods 3 a surprise part of an April hardware event. Weibo user UnclePan said that the new AirPods would debut, along with a boosted version of the iPad Pro.  Some previous leaks indicated that the next generation of Apple’s regular AirPods would share some features with the $249 AirPods Pro, like spatial audio support. They also could have a shorter stem, interchangeable tips, and a smaller charging case than the AirPods Pro.

Battery Boost but Lacks Noise Cancellation?

Apple is working on improving battery life with the AirPods 3, according to a Bloomberg report. The company also reportedly will release a sequel to the AirPods Pro. The lower-end successor to the second generation AirPods, however, will lack Pro features like noise-cancellation.  If these rumors hold true, I’m all in with the new versions of the AirPods. I own a pair of the second-generation AirPods, and used them so much that the battery life dwindled to almost nothing. I’ve since moved onto the AirPods Pro, but can see the value in the lower-cost version as a daily driver.  My AirPods have become an inextricable part of my daily life, and a cheaper pair than the Pro version could be just the thing to have as a backup. I rarely leave the house with my AirPods Pro version, since they are so expensive. I’ve had several close calls, almost losing the AirPods Pro, so picking up a pair that costs around half the price would make me feel a lot more comfortable. As much as I like my second-generation AirPods, they could use some improvements. I thought that the second-generation AirPods sounded fine until I tried out their higher-priced siblings, the Pro model. That’s when I realized that I’d been living in an auditory desert, hearing only a fraction of the potential of what my music could offer. There’s no going back to the sound quality offered by the regular AirPods, so I’m hoping that Apple can make the Pro-level audio available in a cheaper package. 

Hoping For a Better Fit

The fit of the AirPods 3 also could be improved over the current model. The AirPods Pro aren’t quite as comfortable in my ears as the AirPods second generation. However, the Pro models remain in my ears far better than the lower-priced version, and this is a critical factor when working out or even just moving around. Here’s hoping that Apple rejiggers the design of the AirPods 3 so that they both are more comfortable and fit better in your ears.  According to one report, the new AirPods could come with a pressure-equalizing system, similar to the one in the AirPods Pro. I’ve personally never found this system to work very well. As much as I like the AirPods, I am one of those people who finds them uncomfortable to wear for long periods. Perhaps Apple will be able to make an improved version of the pressure equalizer for the new model so they’ll work for all-day use.  Battery life is also an area where Apple needs to step up its game. I’ve owned several pairs of AirPods, and after a few months of use, the battery degrades to the point that I tend only to get 3-4 hours of battery life per charge. I’ve become so dependent on my AirPods to make phone calls that it now seems weird to hold my iPhone up to my head. But recently, I’ve had to unplug from AirPods because they’ve run out of juice.  If Apple comes out with an upgraded form of its lower-priced AirPods, they could be an excellent alternative for users who don’t want to have to spend more than $200 on the product. After all, AirPods are notoriously easy to lose.