This high-performance mechanical keyboard comes with a choice of illumination, color, and switch options. The aluminum housing uses Cherry MX switches that are precise and offer satisfying feedback.  I’ve paired the 3.0 S with my 24-inch iMac, and it’s a far better experience than using Apple’s stock keyboard. Instead of having to peck on the iMac’s low-profile chiclets, I get to enjoy the full-sized keys on the Cherry. This keyboard comes in a choice of colors, but the white version I chose complements the look of the silver iMac. 

Mechanical, All the Way

The Board 3.0 S has a brutal look that matches the squared-off designs of Apple’s latest iOS devices and computers. It’s not lightweight, and I wouldn’t think of packing it for a trip, but its heft means that it’s rock-solid on my desk when I’m pounding away on the keys.  I’m late to the party when it comes to mechanical keyboards, which seem to be growing in popularity. I’ve spent decades tapping on regular keyboards, and when I tried mechanical keyboards, they seemed too clunky and loud. The Board 3.0 S changed my opinion with its silky smooth action.  Tapping on the Board 3.0 S was no louder and, in fact, sometimes quieter than using the iMac keyboard. I’m not a fan of the sound of my own typing, and I know it drives other people crazy, so I prefer to be in stealth mode.  Since I’m an Apple fan, I prefer minimalism in my peripherals to match the Cupertino look. Therefore, most gaming keyboards are not something I’d have on my desk, but the Board 3.0 S is an exception.  The RGB lighting is fun, but is subtle enough not to be too distracting. The color scheme is distinctive on this keyboard, but it doesn’t clash too much with my iMac, and I even think it matches the look if you squint hard enough. 

Other Great Options

In recent months, I’ve been on a keyboard search and have found many good alternatives to the Board 3.0 S on the market.  One particular keyboard I’ve tried out recently and would like to get is the $169.99 Logitech Craft Advanced. It’s got a subtle but stylish look, and the keys make a solid, reassuring click when pushed. I’m even intrigued by the input dial that allows you to do things like quickly scroll through documents.  I also recently got a chance to play around with the Logitech G915 gaming keyboard. At $229.99, it’s more than twice the price of the Cherry MX Board 3.0 S, but if you’ve got the money, this might be the most loaded-out keyboard I’ve ever tried. Logitech software allows you to personalize the RGB and create custom animations from a choice of more than 16 million colors with the included software. The G915 is made of aircraft-grade aluminum that feels so sturdy you could use it to fend off a Zombie invasion or just type on it for many years.  At $109.99, the Cherry MX Board 3.0 S is a sizable investment. But this keyboard is the best mechanical model I’ve ever tried that excels at both gaming and general computing tasks.